Top 10 books you don’t want to miss in your lifetime

Bookshelves

Book photo courtesy of kariatx on Morguefile

Two of my natural habitats are my local library and a bookstore which is situated by a lake. In both places, I have a cozy place to sit with a gorgeous outdoor view, the opportunity to quaff a refreshing beverage and the ability to saunter through the books created by other writers.

Many of these books are even lucky enough to accompany me home after they beg me in a sufficiently pleading manner. Some of them I read only once and pass on to somebody else, while others have an irresistible pull that have me coming back to read them again and again. And again. It’s an addiction. There is no cure. Except perhaps with chocolate. Chocolate cures just about everything.

So which of these books have that magic touch that have me so addicted? Here is my top ten list of irresistible books that I think everybody should read at LEAST once in their lifetime (okay, okay, people, you can use the Cliff Notes, but only if absolutely necessary):

1. The Innocents Abroad, by Mark Twain (“Is, ah…is he dead?” “Oh, sacre bleu, been dead three thousan’ year!”)

2. Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë (Girl gets kind but rude guy, with crazy stuff going on in the mansion.)

3. Persuasion, by Jane Austen (Girl gives up guy under pressure, guy goes away, guy returns wealthy and successful, guy gets girl again.)

4. Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens (Pip’s speech to Estella…’Nuff said.)

5. To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee (Having Boo Radley for a neighbor… a different type of Neighborhood Watch.)

6. The 13 Clocks, by James Thurber (An amazing fantasy tale, written after Thurber had gone blind.)

7. The Witch of Blackbird Pond, by Elizabeth George Speare (Headstrong girl raised in Barbados attempts to fit in with Puritan relatives in Massachusetts colony and makes friends with local witch.)

8. The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde (Deliciously spooky.)

9. The House of the Seven Gables, by Nathaniel Hawthorne (A great section involving a satire of Judge Pyncheon, plus the real house has a wonderful secret stairway guaranteed to delight visitors.)

10. Bridget Jones’s Diary, by Helen Fielding (Mark Darcy. Ahhh.)

And do you ever wonder what books do in the bookstore after hours? If you missed it on Mashable, check out this charming YouTube bookstore animation video created by Sean and Lisa Ohlenkamp of Toronto, Canada.

16 Comments

Filed under Writing

16 responses to “Top 10 books you don’t want to miss in your lifetime

  1. Yay for finding another Book Booster. I’ve read most of your list, although I’m not familiar with 13 Clocks. And isn’t the Joy of Books video amazing?
    Blue Skies,
    CricketMuse

    • Every time I look at the Joy of Books video, I love it all over again. And I also think, “Oh, man, what a lot of work they put into that!” My favorite bits are the books that peep out from the shelves at 0:18 and the two books that do a little dance at 1:12.

  2. Great recommendations, thank you.

  3. Samir

    Mmm… your opening paragraph gave me goose bumps and a deep longing for such a scenic solitude with a book.

  4. I absolutely love your list! I’ve only read Jane Eyre so far, but Persuasion, The Picture of Dorian Grey, To Kill a Mockingbird, Great Expectations and The 13 Clocks are on my to-read list.

  5. Good picks! I admit – shamefully – that I haven’t yet read Great Expectations, but it’s on the list along with Little Dorrit, Bleak House, and a few other Dickens. The 13 Clocks sounds very intriguing.

  6. I will look into Thurber’s book. We just read his wonderful classic daydream short story “Walter Mitty” and it messed with my freshmen because they couldn’t understand it until I showed a clip of the Danny Kaye movie. It will be interesting to see what Ben Stiller does with it.

  7. To Kill a Mockingbird is always on my top books list — I do think it’s about time for another re-read of it (of course, it needs to get in line with all the others . . . ) ~ Kat

  8. Good selection and I have read many of them. I really don’t like Jane Eyre, however. Persuasion is a favorite. Also like Bridget Jones Diary. You must be a Romantic. Dianne

  9. This is just about a classic reading list huh?

  10. Woohoo! You just made me feel awesome! I’m reading Jane Eyre right now :) Great list. Definitely something to keep and start adding these books to my reading list!

  11. grateful to you for recommending these extraordinary books

SPEAK!!!

