2nd blogoversary: Changes, chuckles and connections

Candles

2 candles for my 2nd blogoversary! Image courtesy of Colossus, Morguefile.

So now I’m into my second year of blogging. This year was more serene than my first year. During my first year, I got Freshly Pressed twice (insanity!) and had some published authors stop by my blog to leave comments. (Here’s an account of my first year in blogging if you want to read it.)

In 2014, I’ll still be doing my usual mix of book reviews, educational posts, comedy and social media commentary, but I have some special events planned which I’ll cover in the blog. I hope you enjoy reading about them.

I’m toying with the idea of making some tweaks to the blog’s appearance. We’ll see.

Throughout 2013, I made a lot of connections with fellow bloggers. (I had so many meetings at Panera and Starbucks; I wouldn’t be surprised if those two businesses had a lot more profit in 2013!) It was fun chatting with other WordPress bloggers, comparing our experiences and discovering how each person approached blogging.

In July, I became a business blogger, ghostwriting two business blogs for a local company. I’m enjoying that as well; it’s a great opportunity to put my Internet marketing knowledge and SEO skills to use.

I’ve found that people seek me out for my advice on their business blogs or personal blogs, when they hear that I’m a blogger. I love to analyze their blogs and offer advice that will help them. (Teaching runs in my family, don’t you know.)

I want to offer thanks to the new blog followers who followed me in 2013. I’ve noticed you and have visited your blogs to see what you’re all about.

Also, thanks to my regular followers too. I appreciate you stopping by to read and comment on my posts, sharing your insights, wisdom and life experiences.

I hope 2014 brings you as much fun and humor as possible. Keep laughing — it’s good for you!

32 Comments

Filed under Social Media

32 responses to “2nd blogoversary: Changes, chuckles and connections

  1. Perfect clip–Donald at his best. Did I miss the post where you describe meeting bloggers in person? That would be intriguing (hint, hint)

  2. Congrats on 2 years! Some people don’t make it, losing interest along the way. Sounds like you have figured out how to make a successful career.

  3. Well said. And I like your first anniversary post very much.

  4. Cool that you get to meet with some bloggers face to face.
    Congrats on your anniversary – hope the new year bring much excitement and success

  5. Congrats on your 2 year blog-iversary!

  6. All the best in 2014 both on the blogging side and in the rest of your life!

  7. Meeting other bloggers is great fun. So far, I’ve met at least four. Laughter is the best medicine these days. Few things make me laugh anymore. I was always a serious person, but am worse now than ever. Fortunately, I can still make my husband laugh!! Dianne
    Wasn’t Donald O’Connor the guy with the talking mule Francis? Loved him!

  8. Two years and still at it? Good for you. Carry on!

  9. Happy Bloggiversary or whatever you call it. That’s neat that you’ve met some fellow bloggers along the way. That would be fun. I wish you all the best for this new year.

  10. Congrats and keep on blogging’! Enjoyed Dennis

  11. A huge congratulations, it sounds like it’s been a wonderful year for you. May it continue in huge dosages.

  12. Congrats on your bloggiversary! Many people drop out before their first, let alone second bloggiversary, so you’ve done well sticking around. :) Here’s to more blogging years (and FPs) to come!

    • I wouldn’t mind being Freshly Pressed again — it’s insanity but huge fun too — seeing the comments come in from different parts of the world. But I’ve had my turn…I’d really like to see some other talented bloggers get the recognition they deserve!

  13. I have met several of my followers. It is fun to put a face to the names. I hope 2014 is kind to you.

  14. I hope 2014 continues to be prosperous for you.

  15. When I read of your meetings with other WordPress bloggers, I became very jealous. Then I checked to see where you live. Perhaps there are just more bloggers in Washington D.C. than here in Fresno. I have met very few bloggers, but a few, and yet I don’t think I have personally sat down with a WordPress blogger.

    • It’s great fun comparing our experiences on WordPress and what we enjoy talking about on our blogs. If you’re on LinkedIn, maybe you could find fellow WP bloggers among your connections and meet them in a public place like Starbucks or Panera? Or you could also try Meetup.com for bloggers in your area. Just a thought. :-)

      • I was an early adopter of Linkedin, even before Facebook became popular. All of my connections were people i already knew. I met no one new nor did Linkedin provide any employment opportunities when I left teaching. Then, something happened to Linkedin that caused them to be hacked and when I got an email saying I should reset my password, I decided to just take the whole thing down as it had done me no good what so ever.

  16. Congratulations on year #2!! Worthy of a little chocolate to celebrate, I’d say. ;)

SPEAK!!!

