Comedy with a blog post topic generator

dog at computer

Doggone it, what do I blog about today? Image courtesy of ronnieb, Morguefile.

I was on Twitter earlier today, and I saw a promoted tweet about a website being able to generate blog post topics for you. Normally, I don’t pay much attention to promoted tweets, but this one caught my imagination so I decided to find out more information. I clicked on the tweet’s link and it took me to the company’s page with the topic generator.

All you do is put in three words (nouns, ideally) and hit a button to generate the topics.  First, I put in “writing”, “books” and “literature” (those topics are SO me, don’t you think?) and it gave me 5 fairly decent topics in exchange. Then I put in some people who have been on my mind lately — “Thoreau”, “Dickens” and “Austen” — with some hilarious results.

Then I got really audacious. How dare they limit me to nouns! Who do they think they are? The nerve! I’m putting in three adjectives. Take that, buster!

The adjectives were “exciting”, “frivolous” and “hunky-dory”. These words created blogging topics such as “Miley Cyrus and Exciting: 10 Things They Have In Common” (I’m afraid to ask!) and “Five Tools Everyone In The Frivolous Industry Should Be Using”. (I’m VERY afraid to ask.)

Trust me, you do NOT want to know what it said about “hunky-dory”. Ever.

And someone on the other end of the computer, back at the company, is probably checking out the words I put in and thinking, “What the heck???!!!”

Seriously, people, it’s a fun tool for playing around (please note the disclaimer next to it, and no, I don’t work for this company — the commute would be insane). Here’s the link if you ever want to visit it yourself and play.

I may have to seek out more of these generators when I’m stuck for a topic. Mostly I jot down ideas for posts as they occur to me but sometimes I have to dig very deep. I also like to ensure that my post titles and content have some words in them that relate to SEO so that Google and other search engines find them.

Most of my blog post topics come from books I’ve read, reactions to social media happenings or any topic that crops up in my mind that ties back to writing in one way or another. I try to keep my blog posts as original as I can. It’s a constant challenge, but a fun one.

Now I have to run. I’m hoping the good folks at the company know that I intended this post purely in humor, but I’m taking no chances. Anybody got a spare cave I can borrow? (*looks with beseeching eyes at blog audience*)

Next time: THE VERBS.

23 Comments

Filed under Social Media

23 responses to “Comedy with a blog post topic generator

  1. Ah the fun you can have when you poke at the bear!

  2. I love these funny generator tools. There have been a few, all highly entertaining :-)

  3. Oh, this is great! My post today begged people at the end to leave a comment with ideas for future posts. And now I find out from you there is a machine to do that for me. What will they think of next? Thanks!

  4. I want to hear about this so-called “frivolous industry”! And please don’t leave us hanging about “hunky-dory” ;D

  5. Never heard of this before, thanks for sharing. I think it won’t be long before you can find a website offering pre-written blog posts. For a small fee of course. Hmmmm wanna buy some of my posts?

  6. How weird, that generator doesn’t work for me! As it generates, I can see the text below moving down a few times but there are just blank spaces in-between and then it says ‘try again’! I tried it several times, same thing. Either it doesn’t like my Mac, or it’s trying to tell me something!

  7. My daughter, a English major and M.A. and I were talking about Thoreau only today. I have been invited to join a theosophy group and T was a very thoughtful Transcendentalist. Dianne

  8. I don’t have a spare cave, but I can offer you a cat tunnel…

  9. Fascinating! Now all we need is a computer to fill in the story to go with the headline.

    “Miley Cyrus” seems to pop up a lot For example:

    “Miley Cyrus And Destroy: 10 Surprising Things They Have In Common”

    (I was doing verbs at the time.)

    After 3 or 4 tries, I see a few common “fill-ins”: “10 Common things…”, &c.

    Some are less helpful: “10 Signs You Should Invest In Dickens”.

    Now try random letters. It doesn’t faze them a bit.

    One could do a similar exercise by going to a library and finding the Big Dictionary (it’ll be on a stand all by itself). Open it to a random page. With eyes closed, put your finger on a word. Do this N times (N=3 or more).

    Now write a paragraph or two connecting all those words.

  10. What a fun site!

    Well, I’d love to stay and chat, but I gotta get to work writing my next post: 14 Common Misconceptions about Capybaras.

SPEAK!!!

