The blogosphere: An infinite bookcase?

bookcase

The blogosphere: the world’s most infinite bookcase? Image courtesy of superjhs, Morguefile.

It’s interesting how, as bloggers, we influence one another in our offline lives.

I’ve noticed that my online and offline worlds are blending, more and more. I find myself quoting to my friends and family what other bloggers have said in their posts, teaching others the insights I’ve gained from reading social media bloggers and making the dishes that food bloggers have displayed in their posts. I’ve even e-mailed links to funny videos or photos that pop up in other blogs to the people I know.

The influence of other bloggers is especially noteworthy in my recent book selections, since these bloggers mentioned them as good reads. Here are some of the enjoyable books I’ve read in the past two weeks:

1) The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom. My Irish buddy Liam of The Life of A Thinker recommended this one. It’s the story of Dor, the Father of Time, and how he saves a teenage girl and a wealthy businessman. Albom tells the stories separately and weaves them together later, which I thought was a particularly creative storytelling technique.

2) Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. Jaclyn of the blog Covered In Flour contributed this book. The main character of Attachments is a lonely IT man, Lincoln O’Neill. Lincoln takes a job as an Internet security officer whose main job is to read others’ e-mail that is flagged for using the wrong words. He reads the e-mail conversations between two of his female coworkers and ends up falling in love with one of them, even though he becomes uneasy at invading their privacy. It was a pleasure watching Lincoln progress throughout the book; Jaclyn and I had some fun discussing on Twitter who should play Lincoln if they ever made a movie from this book. (We agreed that Chris Pratt would be a good choice, since he resembles the description of Lincoln in the book.)

And Rainbow Rowell got included in the conversation, since she has her own Twitter account. (One of the pleasures of Twitter: being able to send messages directly to book authors.)

3) Curse of the Narrows: The Halifax Disaster of 1917 by Laura M. MacDonald.  Blogger friend J.G. Burdette and I bonded a long time ago over Titanic books, since we both love history. Her blog Map of Time: A Trip Into The Past is  always an interesting read if you’re into history.

The Halifax disaster concerned two ships, the Imo and the Mont Blanc, which collided in Halifax’s harbor in December 1917. The Mont Blanc caught on fire and created a massive explosion due to its hazardous cargo, destroying hundreds of buildings and injuring/killing thousands of people. Prior to Hiroshima, it was the world’s largest man-made explosion. MacDonald’s book is a comprehensive look at what happened, why it happened and its aftermath.

4) Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. I’ve talked about the different books of the Brontë family with several other bloggers and finally got around to reading this one. I know that Heathcliff and Catherine are supposed to be one of the most famous literary couples, but frankly…I thought Heathcliff was a jerk and Catherine was a brat. Edward Rochester and Jane Eyre beat ‘em, every time.

Maybe I’ll like Heathcliff and Catherine better if I see one of the Wuthering Heights movies. Anybody got any recommendations for the best version to see?

18 Comments

Filed under Writing

18 responses to “The blogosphere: An infinite bookcase?

  1. Wuthering Heights is a book for romantic teenagers. Loved it and the movie (the one with Olivier) when I was 17. I find it really annoying now. A single conversation with honest communication could have saved everyone a lifetime of misery. Dumb.

    • *chuckles* Well said, Marilyn!

      What is it, I wonder, about brooding, Byronic young men that agelessly appeals to young women? You could argue that Edward Cullen of the Twilight saga and Stefan/Damon Salvatore of The Vampire Diaries are the modern versions of Heathcliff (although they’re somewhat nicer than him). Hmmmm….

  2. Jools

    I couldn’t agree more. I’ve just been receiving some very helpful feedback from the blogging/following community, as a result of a recent post, including recommended reading. I too enjoy Mitch Albom’s books.

  3. I know what you mean – I’ve tried a number of books because of bloggers, and I have even tried a few recipes (although I’ve twisted them to suit my style as I always do). But I like the way you describe it as an infinite bookcase, because it’s true – if I ever ran out of books I knew I wanted to read (which probably won’t happen, but still) I know I could just jump onto WordPress and have a long list within moments. And that’s a good thing, I’m pretty sure,
    I also really enjoyed The Time Keeper, and love all of Albom’s books (although I haven’t read his latest one). Interestingly he’s one of the only authors whom I share an interest in with my mother (who generally likes the polar opposite of what I like to read). It’s pretty hard to beat Tuesdays With Morrie though, and I was pleasantly surprised with Have A Little Faith, his other non-fiction book.

  4. Jaclyn

    I couldn’t agree more that the blogosphere is an infinite bookcase! (What a great way to describe it. I’m drooling over the visual.) I’ve seen my TBR explode in the years since I switched from food blogging to primarily book blogging, and started interacting with other bookish folk around the WWW.
    I’m glad that you enjoyed ATTACHMENTS – such a great book! Steve and I have been watching Parks & Rec, by the way – a re-watch for me but the first time for him – and every time Andy has a scene I now think “Lincoln!” Heh.

    Oh, and I’m with you on WUTHERING HEIGHTS. My least favorite Bronte novel, by far, because I couldn’t get behind the central “romance.” The kids – young Cathy, young Linton – weren’t too terrible, but the older generation was completely unsympathetic and plain irritating. (I’ve been following some interesting discussion on Twitter – not someone I follow, but Penguin Classics keeps RTing – suggesting that Catherine really loved Edgar, not Heathcliff, all along, because he represented a more normal family life. Nice idea but I don’t think I agree, because I think Catherine was too dumb to recognize a solid family and an extension of steadfast love if it came up and bit her.) Jane and Mr. Rochester, all the way! (Funny story – when my Peanut was born, my brother asked me if she was named after Emily Bronte – because he knows I love my Brontes. I said, “No WAY, WUTHERING HEIGHTS was a steaming pile of garbage. If I was going to name her after a Bronte I’d have named her Charlotte.” My brother thought it was hilarious that I dismissed his question not because it would be weird to name my daughter after a Bronte, but because the Bronte in question wrote a book I dislike. Then I reaffirmed my booknerdishness by explaining that she is named after an L.M. Montgomery heroine… and her great-grandmother, which is how I sold Steve on the name. But really, it’s Emily Starr who counts.)

    • Why am I not surprised to find out that Peanut is named after a character Lucy Maud created? Given your love for L.M.M., that is. *wry grin*

      I want that bookcase too. Plus, enough books to fill it up. I’m well on my way there. I have two bookcases crammed full as well as a bunch of boxes.

  5. Interesting list of books. The Halifax disaster looks especially inviting, as the turn of the century is my area of interest. Dianne

  6. I find the same thing happening. Glad it’s not just me!! ;)

  7. Some of my favorite bloggers have morphed into being some of my favorite… authors! I look forward to new posts like I would a book coming out. :) Curse of the Narrows looks like a fascinating book. I’ll have to check that one out!

  8. Aw, thanks for the mention, S. L. Glad you found “Curse of the Narrows” to your liking. I recently purchased a copy for myself. :D

  9. “I find myself quoting to my friends and family what other bloggers have said in their posts . . .” Oh yes, I can SO relate! Working solo at home as a freelance editor can be lonely, but thanks for all my blogging “friends,” I end each workday feeling as though I’ve had all those watercooler conversations I used to have in an office. I agree: the blogosphere IS the ultimate bookcase!

    • I hear you! One of my relatives once remarked that blogging was like having international pen pals. I’m constantly fascinated by other bloggers’ viewpoints and input, and I’m honored when they take a few minutes to share their feelings with me.

SPEAK!!!

