The best phrase to hear in social media

Computer

Where all the magic and sharing begins. Image courtesy of Seemann on Morguefile.

There’s an old African proverb that says, “When an old man dies, a library burns to the ground.” Okay, so it’s not the most uplifting quote in the world, people, but the person who came up with this proverb had a good point: Each person is a unique library. Everybody’s got their own set of experiences and knowledge that influenced the person they’ve become today.

What I like most about social media is the infinite opportunities it provides for exchanging knowledge with other people, whether it’s Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, blogging and so on. I get such a kick out of it when I’ve passed on a bit of my knowledge with someone and they say “Hey, I didn’t know that!” Now it’s become my favorite phrase to hear in social media. (Sometimes I get to say it to them, too.)

And that is the essence of social media — sharing and interacting with others. However, some people still don’t quite get it. They make social media about themselves, first and foremost. I wince when I see a tweet that says “Retweet me!” because if it’s interesting enough, I’ll retweet it anyway. Other tweets, such as those on #writing, are only quotations and nothing BUT quotations. (Snore…) Still other tweets I click on turn out to be about pushing a product or service, rather than trying to create a relationship first between buyer and seller.

I’ve seen this lack of sharing on Facebook pages, too. Some business-oriented Facebook pages are “sell, sell, sell”. But I’ve also viewed some excellent Facebook pages where lots of interesting information is posted — upcoming events I might want to attend, educational videos, and informative articles that may be written by the business or that come from another source entirely. I admire these Facebook pages because they show that the creator truly has the readers’ best interests at heart. Yes, they’re selling products and services, too, but they’re entertaining and educating you at the same time.

Blogging’s added to my “library” in a host of different ways. People worldwide have shared all sorts of information with me. They’ve recommended books, movies and bookstores I should see, given me great recipes I want to try, shared trivia about historical events or people, made me think more about life, and shown me their photographs of scenes all over the world. I even get to trade quips between my blog and theirs.

And through the magic of my keyboard, I can put up a post I’ve written and get a response from someone halfway around the world within minutes. I still marvel at that.

I’ll keep adding to my library and I hope I’ve added to yours in some small way. Happy Memorial Day weekend, people.

22 Comments

Filed under Social Media

22 responses to “The best phrase to hear in social media

  1. Each person is a unique library.

    Love that quote!

  2. Thanks for that piece of your mind…and I liked your quote…A person is an independent library of knowledge and experience. We only hope that we can keep expanding its stock with helpful and happy experiences.

  3. I get a real kick out of getting a comment from people all over. Imagine, a person from another state/country is reading what I write. I’ve learned a lot from reading other blogs, yours included (which is very amusing). Love all the tips on writing and whatnot. Great post!

  4. Never thought of myself as a “library” — thanks for that bit of enlightenment.

  5. I love this. And I have only been blogging for about 2 months and have absolutely fallen in love with the social media library – so many interesting people and such creativity. It is a beautiful space! Thanks for a great post. And every person as a library is a beautiful concept. Thanks for that!

  6. Blogging is so wonderful. Do you share your blog on Facebook? Get many readers that way? When I used to be on FB, I would share my blog but often felt that some people thought it was self-promoting. Others seemed to think the promotion was very positive. I never did settle happily with FB — maybe some day will start up again if my expectations are different. Happy Memorial Day weekend to you, Editor!

    • Mostly I just have my blog mentioned on my Twitter account, since I send out the occasional tweet that refers to a blog post. I also use Twitter to share news articles relating to social media and to interact (or should that be “chirp”??) with other Twitterers.

  7. I’ve nominated you for an award. — LOVE YOUR BLOG!!

  8. I love this post. You’ve definitely added to my library of knowledge and inspiration! (Although I still haven’t gotten around to my pledge of re-reading THE SECRET GARDEN this spring. I’m beating the library books off with a stick instead.) Now I’ll be seeking you out on Twitter, too. (I’m @backyardyogini – since messybaker was taken.)

  9. Just stumbled on your blog and this post and totally agree. Blogging adds a whole other dimension to social media, a more in-depth dimension. Blogs convey more than 140 characters ever could. Twitter has its uses as does Facebook and the key is probably to use each slightly differently.

  10. That’s a great saying. I’m realizing more and more how much information is lost with the passing of my grandparents and my father. There are so many things I would now like to ask them that just didn’t occur to me when I was younger. And now I’ll never know. So yes, I blog in part as a kind of scrapbook for my kids later. And I have an online diary and a family tree where I put as much information as I can. It’s never going to be everything, but it’s a whole lot more than the previous generations left behind in the way of primary sources.

    I just discovered your blog today, on Freshly Pressed, and I enjoy it. I think I’ll follow.

    • Thanks, Barbara. I’m flattered by the follow.

      And you’re so right. Blogging can be a wonderful form of scrapbooking. I like the idea of the online diary and family tree — a great way to preserve information for future generations.

  11. Just stumbled into your blog this afternoon. I couldn’t agree more with this post! I love sharing information via social networking, as well as learning from others. I think a lot of the beauty is unfortunately lost in the eyes of most users. Glad there are at least a few people out there that actually get it. 🙂

SPEAK!!!

