Channeling Stephen Covey

Mountain

Maybe life’s less about climbing the mountain, and more about enjoying the trip. Image courtesy of cfuenzal, Morguefile.

A friend of mine asked me an interesting question recently. Our discussion involved lifetime goals and I experienced some trouble articulating a few of mine. So he said, “Let’s look at this another way. Where do you want to be at the end of your life, looking back?” After I heard that question and considered my goals from that viewpoint, describing both my personal and professional goals became much easier.

The same friend loaned me his copy of Stephen Covey’s book, The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. My friend’s question came from this book. The book raises other intriguing points to ponder, such as what can I alter about my life and what can I do to change how I feel about certain situations in the past that can’t be changed.

The book also made me think about some goals I’m currently working on and how to gauge how successful they’ve been. Achieving some of these goals have gotten me further toward where I want to be, and now it’s time to charge forward, be adventurous and attempt more goals. (Hey, what can I say, people; I like strategy and planning.)

I admire adventurous people such as polar explorer Sir Ernest Shackleton and Everest climber Sir Edmund Hillary, who endured some of the most inhospitable environments on earth, kept going, and triumphed despite numerous setbacks. And in the blogosphere, I’ve found fellow blogger Lesley Carter of Bucket List Publications, whose appetite for life and adventure inspires me every time I read her posts. I hope that I become as lucky in life as she is.

As a theater button I own says, “Enjoy life — This is not a dress rehearsal.”

8 Comments

Filed under Writing

8 responses to “Channeling Stephen Covey

  1. Yes! I agree. I’ve read Stephen Covey a long time ago; I should pick up some other books now. Your post inspired me. And I love Shackleton’s story–that guy was incredible. And Lesley Carter, the new Mommy, is amazing with all she does; nothing is impossible to her.

  2. Eleenie

    When I saw your post I was so certain I had read this book and that it was in my collection but it would appear I was wrong on both counts. It sounds like a book that could be of benefit to me. Many thanks for sharing, I can feel a purchase coming on!

  3. Food for thought…I love the the way the question was rephrased, it does make it easier to put things in perspective.

  4. I guess the question conjures an image for me of some time in the distant future, as I lie on my death bed (a la Ali McGraw in Love Story). As a Buddhist, I am keenly aware that I don’t know what the next moment holds for me. I try to stay with this moment and live life consciously, making the most skillful decisions I can and then being aware of their consequences. Moment by moment.

    It works for me. But others get frustrated when they try to include me in their plans. Planning is hard for Buddhists! At least for this one. Maybe I’m doing it wrong… 😉

SPEAK!!!

