Mitch Joel and the six degrees of digital separation

Social media connections

Image courtesy of Paola Peralta, Wikimedia Commons.

Whenever I go to the library, I pick up a motley collection of books, depending on my mood. Sometimes I’ll get a bunch of books created in a series by the author (I’ve just worked my way through Janet Evanovich #1, #2 and #3), revisit old friends such as Jane Eyre or The Count of Monte Cristo, or get books in a particular genre, such as mysteries or true-life historical events.

A while back, I decided to do something new on my library trips, which was to pick up at least one book per visit which increased my knowledge in some way. For this trip, it was Mitch Joel’s Six Pixels of Separation. It is an outstanding read for anyone who wants to understand how much the world has changed in how information is communicated now and how we’re connecting with each other so much more these days through blogging, YouTube, Facebook, podcasts, and so on. I liked how readable the book was — it’s written without techspeak jargon and uses what I call “regular people English”. Joel also adds a number of interesting anecdotes to illustrate his points, such as Gary Vaynerchuk of Wine Library and Chris Brogan, a top social media expert who is much sought-after when an online community needs building.

The book seems to be geared toward a business audience, but I found that Chapter 8 has some great information for bloggers. It’s very relevant to us personal bloggers as well as business bloggers. Joel talks about finding your voice, keeping your content fresh, building a community, earning the trust of the people who read you, being consistent in what you say and other tips for creating a good blog.

(And I am SO going to follow this guy on Twitter when I get a moment.)

Joel knows what he’s talking about, too. He is the president of Twist Image, a Canadian digital marketing agency. So if you’re ever in the mood to discover more about social media platforms and their effect on modern society, hasten to your library or bookstore to check out this book. It’s worth your time.

14 Comments

Filed under Social Media

14 responses to “Mitch Joel and the six degrees of digital separation

  1. And I am SO going to check out this book. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Thanks for the info. I would definitely be interested in reading his book, I find social media and related matters fascinating, I did a couple of posts on my blog a while back about the networks that build up through blogging.

  3. Thank you for the kind words about the book! I really appreciate it. 🙂

  4. You mean you have time to read? What is that like?

  5. Thanks for this input. My curiosity has been aroused sufficiently for me to venture out in search of this book.

    Shakti

SPEAK!!!

