Pardon me, which way to the beach books?

Beach

Anybody want to go to the beach? Just bring your towel and a book. Image courtesy of rikahi, Morguefile.

At this time of year, I get very hungry to see color outside. All you see now is bare trees and dingy leaves. Sometimes a snowstorm may come along and liven things up by gently adding an elegant coating of snow to trees, buildings and bushes, but not this year. Most of our snowstorms in my area have been barely there at all so far — maybe an measly inch or two.

I don’t mind too much. I fear a repeat of “Snowmageddon” or “Snowpocalypse,” when the DC metro area had not one, but two major snowstorms that gave us a grand total of 55 inches of snow. Yikes. That’s taller than some adults I know.

So at this time of year, I’m dreaming of the beach. Blue sky…hot sun…gentle breezes…soft waves lapping gently against the sand. Or maybe a cruise…okay, now we’re talking.

But since some of us can’t escape winter, I thought I’d entertain you by providing a list of my favorite beach books. I’m adding a twist to it, though. This is not your usual list of what to read on a beach vacation, but a list of good books that are all set on or near the beach. If you’re in the mood to escape the winter doldrums, get ready to go coastal!

1. Island of the Blue Dolphins, by Scott O’Dell. A children’s novel about a young girl stranded on an island. Based on a true story.

2. The Reef, by Nora Roberts. Treasure hunting, scuba diving, strong characters, great plot and Roberts’ trademark humor…what’s not to like?

3. The Last Song, by Nicolas Sparks. Teenager girl and her brother visit her dad at the beach. Dad and girl rebond through music.

4. Misty of Chincoteague, by Marguerite Henry. Another children’s classic, about a brother and sister taming a wild horse.

5. The Shell Seekers, by Rosamunde Pilcher. An exploration of an elderly British woman who grew up in Cornwall during periods of significant historical change and her relationships with her children.

6. Colony, by Anne Rivers Siddons. Set on the Maine coast, this book is somewhat graphic here and there, but a wonderful escapist read anyway.

7. Evil Under The Sun, by Agatha Christie. Murder at an English seaside resort. But not to worry — Hercule Poirot is on the case!

8. The Moon-Spinners, by Mary Stewart. English tourist working in Greece visits a seaside town and gets mixed up in danger and mystery.

I guess I’ll have to make do with these books until spring gets here and the local crocuses start blooming. Or maybe I can  just fantasize about going on a sea cruise…anybody want to join me?

23 Comments

Filed under Writing

23 responses to “Pardon me, which way to the beach books?

  1. Great list! I was just thinking about the Moon Spinners the other day, both the book and the movie.

  2. Nice list. That was a fun memory to see Island of the Blue Dolphins. I LOVED that book as a kid.

  3. 4th Grade. Island of the Blue Dolphins. My love of reading is born.

    We went on a field trip to Mission Santa Barbara where the girl in the book is buried. At least that is my memory. I think she is buried there.

  4. Ah spring… you are most welcome. 🙂

  5. travelrat

    I saw the film of the Moonspinners … and I often wondered why the windmill was turning without a miller in attendance? At the moment, my DVD of choice when the winter blahs set in is ‘Mamma Mia!’.

  6. Impybat

    Love, love, love Island of the Blue Dolphins. I’ll check out some on your list.

  7. Like your list. Some are not known to me – so will have to do some research. Thanks.

  8. I think I’ll take you up on that fantasy cruise.

  9. Great list of titles. Oh, Misty. Always worry about those ponies in hurricane season. We all desperately need some sun.

  10. Evil under the sun…now there’s a favorite. 🙂

SPEAK!!!

