Ten foreign quotes ganged up on me…

rocks on beach

The beach: My favorite place for philosophy. Image courtesy of rikahi, Morguefile.

In this blog, I’ve often featured quotes from various people. However, I’ve noticed that a lot of these quotes are American. This has made some foreign quotes get upset with me. They want equal time on this worldwide stage I call my blog.

These foreign quotes gave me pouty faces and threatened quote discrimination, and I fear I’m in danger of being dangled from the nearest participle. (NO! NO! NOT THE PARTICIPLE!!! GAAAAAHHHHH!) So for tonight, I’m rescuing myself from deadly dangle danger and giving you my personal top 10 list of best foreign quotes I’ve ever found. Have fun.

France: “No one is exempt from talking nonsense; the mistake is to do it solemnly.” (Michel Eyquem de Montaigne)

India: “There are seven deadly social sins: Politics without principle. Wealth without work. Commerce without morality. Pleasure without conscience. Education without character. Science without humility. Worship without sacrifice.” (Mahatma Ghandi)

Germany: “Without music, life would be a mistake.” (Friedrich Nietzsche)

Italy: “It had long since come to my attention that people of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things.” (Leonardo da Vinci)

Holland: “Try to put well in practice what you already know, and in so doing, you will in good time, discover the hidden things which you now inquire about. Practice what you know, and it will help to make clear what now you do not know.” (Rembrandt van Rijn)

China: “A book holds a house of gold.” (proverb by an unknown author)

Japan: “Can you imagine all I would do if I could do all I can?” (Sun Tzu)

Chile: “Write what should not be forgotten.” (Isabel Allende)

Portugal: “In adversity is when friendship is proven.” (proverb by an unknown author)

Egypt: “You can tell whether a man is clever by his answers. You can tell whether a man is wise by his questions.” (Naguib Mahfouz)

32 Comments

Filed under Writing

32 responses to “Ten foreign quotes ganged up on me…

  1. Excellent collection of quotes! Thanks for sharing

  2. As a quote collector, I love this post. And I had no idea that quotes could be SOOOOOO territorial. Who knew?

  3. Awesome sausage squeezin’s… I like the India one best. Why are foreign quotes so touchy?

  4. Well thank god your not dangling from a participle! Those things hurt! 😉 You also gotta watch out for Nietzsche’s quotes; they tend to be self-righteous and are easily offended if not used often enough….Great Quotes!

  5. Gotta go with Ghandi for the top pick which was tough since you’ve picked a bouquet of quotes! I gotta hunch a third pressing is in order.

    Watch out for those dangling participles, although split by an infinitive can be almost as painful.

  6. I really like the quote from Egypt. I find this true in the classes I teach. You can really get an idea of a student’s understanding of a concept by the questions they ask.

  7. I am trying to pick a favourite but cannot–you did a superlative job here (btw have never used the word superlative before)

  8. “You can tell whether a man is wise by his questions”—That doesn’t sound good. I’ve asked some pretty dumb questions. 😉

  9. Well, you should be safe from those participles now. Nice feast of quotes. I feel like singing the Disney song, “It’s a small world after all.”

  10. These were great! Although I was mostly rolling in laughter after the dangling from a participle comment! 😀

  11. Nice quotes and nice idea until you mentioned hanging participle.
    Months ago I read the about you page and read about your quest of hanging participles.
    I had some recall of those so I googled them. Never again, the more I tried to learn the more my brain actually hurt and my mind felt scrambled.
    I now worship the hanging participle and all that connects to them. May they live a long and fruitful life.

  12. My favorite one would be the Da Vinci one. Truly makes you get up and do what you want. I shall just go out and happen to things! 🙂 Great post!

SPEAK!!!

