Facebook, song writing and paralyzed chickens

Guitar

Betcha you could write and play some great songs on THIS bad boy. Guitar image courtesy of Patuska, Morguefile.

I’m in awe of how professional songwriters have the ability to paint verbal pictures for the rest of us and match it to notes that convey a certain mood. As a professional copywriter, I know that words have to be carefully crafted in order to tell a story, but it’s even harder to match it to a fast or slow tempo and to come up with notes arranged in an original way.

Artists such as Dan Fogelberg and Jim Croce were especially good at painting a picture through their words. With evocative songs such as “Same Old Lang Syne,” “Leader of the Band” and “Time in a Bottle,” you can almost see the scenes they’ve created.

But these songs have to be performed in the right way so that the words are in sync with the music. Singers also have to enunciate properly, or the audience will get confused. I was recently reminded of this fact when one of my relatives posted a link to a CNN story on Facebook. The story said that Spotify, a music-streaming service, published an informal list of the most commonly botched lines from popular songs.

Of course, I had to go see that, since I love singing. Here’s a sample:

  • The Clash’s “Rock The Casbah” is often heard as “Rock The Cat Box.”
  • In Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Bad Moon Rising,” the lyric “Don’t go out tonight/It’s bound to take your life/There’s a bad moon on the rise” is heard as “Don’t go out tonight/It’s bound to take your life/There’s a bathroom on the right.”

But the most classic line came in the comments. One person mentioned that Eddie Money’s “I’ve got two tickets to Paradise” sounds like “I’ve got two chickens to paralyze.” Another person said, “I’ve got two ticks and a parasite.”

I’m still chuckling over the paralyzed chickens. How on earth would you paralyze a chicken, anyway? Hypnosis, maybe? Any ideas, fellow bloggers?

 

 

25 Comments

Filed under Writing

25 responses to “Facebook, song writing and paralyzed chickens

  1. Two ticks and a parasite. I’m still laughing.

  2. This why I tend to use subtitles when watching movies. It’s amazing what you hear compared to what was actually said!
    Can’t help you with those chickens, but I don’t think it would take much to mesmerize them.

  3. One idea to paralyze a chicken…fry it! Great post!

  4. Great Post Eagle! Ronnie Spector’s vocals on “I’ve got Two Chickens to Paralyze” is smoking hot… They have entire websites on misheard lyrics, very entertaining. Tho I think the song “Wolley Bully” has to hold top billing on misheard lyrics. It was recorded 3x by Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs each time the lyrics varied and not every word in the song is understandable as it was a mix of standard English and Tex-Mex slang combined with the musicians just goofing around…

  5. travelrat

    It was only when I bought a decent sound system that I realised Elvis was NOT singing about his hound dog ‘crapping all the time’. And, in the 70s, in Boney M’s ‘Rivers of Babylon’; ‘How can we sing the Lord’s song in a strange land?’ became ‘How can we sing to Lawson in Australia?’

  6. I don’t know if Paul Young made it over there, but he was a big singer over here in the 80s and he had a song where the chorus started “Every time you go away, you take a piece of me with you”, but because there’s a cymbal noise after ‘me’, it sounds like “Every time you go away, you take a piece of meat with you.”

    The other classic is Billy Ocean “When the going gets tough” which sounds like “Well go and get stuffed.”

  7. I want those tickets to paradise–no paralyzed chickens for me–

  8. Impybat

    I think my cats’ litter box needs a sign above it that says “Rock the cat box”. Mr. Impybat and I love The Clash 🙂 Also, two ticks and a parasite is hilarious, LOL! Not to have, though…

  9. Chuckling along with you. It’s so funny how we can hear some words in a song and then sing them wrong for years until someone points out the obvious. Thanks for the smile this morning!

  10. If the chickens had ticks that could leave them paralyzed?! This made me laugh so much x

  11. Great post. And it’s a tribute to people who make up lyrics when they don’t know the real ones. I mean, look at Weird Al…but I bet he knows all the real lyrics. 😉

  12. If you tuck a chicken’s head under its wing – it will immediately go to sleep. Not really paralysis but close enough. Then you can get rid of their ticks and parasites and THEN you can fry ’em! Loved this post – funny.
    ‘Scuse me while I kiss that Guy…

SPEAK!!!

