Book club notes, part 2

kite

Kite image courtesy of wallyir, Morguefile.

Thanks, everyone, who sent in your recommendations for the book club that my friends and I are forming! We have at least 20 books that we can use, garnered from my post about a week ago and from older posts as well.

I’m curious to see how this club will work out. I’ve been a book lover all my life but this is my first experience actually participating in a book club. Is it going to be something like “The Jane Austen Book Club”, where life ends up imitating art and the club members reflect the characters portrayed in the book? Naaaah…probably not.

In any case, it should be a lot of fun discussing characters, motivation and plot, with everybody contributing their own perspective. I can’t wait for the first meeting.

And it looks like maybe the group will increase in size eventually. Two other people I know have expressed interest in joining the club.

The book for the first meeting is The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. I enjoyed it; this book has so many layers and hidden secrets that all make sense in the end. It’s a story about the relationships between fathers and sons, and it’s about evil, cowardice and atonement. (I’ll leave the rest for you to discover if you choose to read it.)

The book’s name comes from the sport of kite fighting. You fly a kite with a sharp string that has been coated in crushed glass and rice glue (the traditional type of string, now some areas use nylon lines instead) and try to cut down your competitors’ kites. The kite runner runs to collect a kite after it’s been cut down, and there is one boy in the book who is particularly talented at it.

And thanks to the miracle of social media, I sent a tweet to Mr. H telling him how much I enjoyed The Kite Runner. If I’m lucky, he read it. (Hey, it was worth a try.)

6 Comments

Filed under Writing

6 responses to “Book club notes, part 2

  1. I became fascinated by the idea of fighting with kites as a kid. The whole concept – and the art of it – the layers of meaning and thought. Great book

    • I did some research on kite fighting in the course of writing the post, and it turns out that kite fighting is done in different parts of the world. I’d never heard of it, but I’d love to see a tournament sometime just for the fun of it.

  2. Have fun! If you ever do Lord of the Rings (that could take half a lifetime), I have a great script for an annual Fall of Sauron party.

  3. The Kite Runner is a great book–full of material for many discussions. Excellent choice!

SPEAK!!!

