PUBLISHED!

Christmas tree 2

I hope everybody has a rockin’ Christmas! Image courtesy of Falco, Pixabay.

About a week ago, I got one of the nicest Christmas presents ever. Earlier this fall, I did a book review of Franco David Macri’s book, Clash of Empires in South China: The Allied Nations’ Proxy War With Japan, 1935-1941. I read the book and wrote the review at the request of a friend, who works for a local company that publishes history magazines.

And now my friend told me that the book review has been published in the March 2014 edition of Military History magazine. I’ve been sent three advance copies, which currently reside on my dining room table so that I can peek at them whenever I want.

(Okay, okay, maybe the magazine is on the dining table because I’m doing a tiny bit of oh-so-humble bragging as well. “Oh, you didn’t know this magazine has my review in it? Let me show you. It’s right here!” But can you blame me? LOL.)

As a copywriter, it’s always a thrill to see my words in use, whether it’s a newsletter, a press release, a reblog or anything else. But this is the first time my work’s appeared in a magazine (well, okay, there was the literary magazine in high school, but that was a while ago). It means a lot to me that my review was considered worthy of this high-quality magazine, and I am honored.

Like I said, one of the nicest Christmas presents ever. I hope your holiday season is filled with the same kinds of treats. And as my personal Christmas present to all of you, here’s a treat for your eyes and ears, courtesy of this amazing a cappella group, Pentatonix.

24 Comments

Filed under Writing

24 responses to “PUBLISHED!

  1. What a cool present – Congratulations!!! And merry christmas

  2. A byline is good 🙂 Well-time and well-deserved honor. Merry Christmas.

  3. Yea! That’s cool for you. Good job…and Merry Christmas. Thanks for the song. They have cool voices. I loved it.

  4. Congrats! Getting published in any manner is an honor worth of celebration and bragging.

  5. Much Applause! That is a wonderful present. Merry Christmas!

  6. Merry Christmas from Lapand.

  7. Indeed it is. Congratulations and Merry Christmas 🙂

  8. Congratulations! That is indeed great news, so happy for you.

  9. Merry Christmas and happy holidays!

  10. Congratulations! As a writer, I know there are few things more exciting!!!! Way to go, E-EE and friend !!!!!

  11. Yay! Big congratulations!! It’s hard to beat a Christmas present like that! 🙂

  12. Jaclyn

    Congratulations! That’s fabulous, and what a great Christmas gift!

  13. Congratulations–definitely the best kind of gift! 🙂

  14. Congrats! Seeing our name in print does cause for happy moments, doesn’t it? Any chance of linking to the magazine so we can all ooh and aah?

SPEAK!!!

