Pro-blogging it with Darren Rowse and Chris Garrett

baby blogger

A baby blogger in training! Image courtesy of anitapeppers, Morguefile.

In the library last week, I came across an interesting treasure for bloggers! It was ProBlogger: Secrets to Blogging Your Way to A Six-Figure Income by Darren Rowse and Chris Garrett. Darren Rowse is an Australian blogger, entrepreneur and one of the foremost authorities in the world on professional blogging, so that got my interest right way. Chris Garrett is a successful Canadian blogger and an online business/content marketing consultant.

The book is mostly about how to monetize your blog and strategies for doing that successfully. I met someone recently who suggested that I monetize my blog, but at the moment, I don’t plan to do that since I prefer its clean look. Still…I was curious to learn more what it does take to make money from your blog. According to the book, you make money directly through advertising, sponsorships or paid reviews, or indirectly through activities such as speaking engagements, consulting opportunities and book deals.

Even if you don’t particularly desire to make money from your blog and choose to stay amateur, the book has excellent suggestions for choosing a niche, attracting an audience and creating good content that people will read. It’s also a good book for newbie bloggers just getting used to the blogging world.

Rowse and Garrett share their personal stories about how they got into professional blogging (I was surprised to find out that Rowse was once a minister!). Both are careful to emphasize that blogging success didn’t happen overnight, and I applaud their integrity in saying that.

So if you’re in the mood to learn more about blogging or making money from it, this book is worth your time. Enjoy!

13 Comments

Filed under Social Media

13 responses to “Pro-blogging it with Darren Rowse and Chris Garrett

  1. I’ve run an online business. Did it — successfully — for three years. It’s a stunning amount of work. A monetized blog is a sales site in “other” words. Now, if someone would pay me to write whatever I want … THAT would work for me 🙂

  2. I thinking making it my job would take all the fun out of it, But will look at the book for any good tips. Thanks.

  3. Hey, been curious about that, too (although from what I’ve read, making money isn’t easy – and only certain types /styles of blogs have potential.) thanks

    • I would agree that certain types/style of blogs have more financial potential than others. You do, after all, need to create material that people want to read and will share.

      But there can be interesting blogs about all types of industries. I read an article once where the author took a group of businesses that would be considered boring by most people and showed how each business had a unique blog that made the business interesting for readers.

  4. I’ve never considered making a living out of blogging. It’s a neat idea, but I don’t think it’s for me. Ultimately I will start thinking of blogging as a job and that sucks out all the fun from it. 😦

    • It does take a lot of effort to blog professionally, that’s true. I ghostwrite a couple of business blogs and it IS work.

      But at the same time, I get a great deal of pleasure writing those blogs, because I know that I’m helping to educate others. By reading what I’ve written, they gain knowledge and improve the chances of making their own businesses more successful. To me, that’s very satisfying.

  5. One of the perks of retirement is not having to monetize anything.

SPEAK!!!

