Gary Vaynerchuk: My kind of social media expert

keeping up with social media

“I know, I know…it’s tiring to keep up with all your social media sites!” Image courtesy of marykbaird, Morguefile.

When I first started learning the social media world, the name “Gary Vaynerchuk” and his book Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How To Tell Your Story In A Noisy Social World came up at regular intervals. I got to wondering: Who IS this guy and why does his name keep popping up?

I was intrigued enough to do the research; he’s a New York entrepreneur, a best-selling author and wine expert. Gary V also used social media to grow his winery business from $4 million to $45 million through Wine Library TV. Wine Library TV, a popular wine video blog, educated and entertained people about wine (wine fans and foodies who like wine, take note). In 2009, Gary and his brother AJ launched VaynerMedia, a brand consulting company that helps their clients use social media platforms to build communities and pursue their marketing goals.

So for somebody like me who is in marketing, reading a book like this one is practically mandatory. Getting the book from the library, however, was tricky due to its popularity. Fortunately, my local librarians are an understanding bunch (bribes of chocolate and new puppies didn’t hurt, either) and were pleased when I wept copious tears of joy upon receiving the book and did a victory cha-cha out of the library.

The book proved to be well worth the wait. (Yes, I’m kidding about the weeping, the chocolate and the new puppies.) It discusses the different social media sites and how they can be used to amuse, educate and entertain users of Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and other platforms. It has quite a bit of humor and includes an analysis of good/bad social media examples. Gary V also shows why those examples are good or bad, so the examples become a learning experience.

I like this book for several reasons: It’s good for anybody who just wants to understand how social media sites like Facebook and Twitter work or to make their own sites more effective. It’s also handy for business owners getting into social media or for budding marketers seeking to improve their digital marketing knowledge. I recommend it.

I see I’ll have to add this book to my already groaning bookcase. *sighs* Anybody got a crowbar?

8 Comments

Filed under Social Media

8 responses to “Gary Vaynerchuk: My kind of social media expert

  1. I thought chocolate, cha-cha, and puppies were the norm for getting bumped up on the holds list.

  2. Sounds like a good resource. Thanks for the review

  3. And now, everyone has a FB page plus a website and/or blog. Authors, musicians. Every organization from the local vet to your grocery store. Apparently it’s mandatory and also apparently, it works.

SPEAK!!!

