The Librarians are coming!

Library hallway

Wonder what secrets THIS library holds? You never know. Image courtesy of revwarheart, Morguefile.

TNT just gave me one of the nicest possible early Christmas presents. Thanks, guys.

First, a bit of background. I’m a fan of “The Librarian” movies, which feature a brilliant and hilarious character, Flynn Carsen, played by actor Noah Wyle (Dr. Carter from ER). I’ve mentioned this series before in my blog (read the post Contrarian Librarians).

Flynn went to work for the Metropolitan Public Library as a librarian, but his job turned out to be more than just books. The library’s underground level holds the world’s mythical treasures, including the sword Excalibur from Arthurian legend and Pandora’s box. Flynn’s job is to run around the world rescuing different precious objects and saving the world’s population in the process, aided by his bosses Judson (Bob Newhart) and Charlene (Jane Curtin).

Now, it seems that the job has gotten too big for just Flynn to handle, so a new group of people have been recruited to help Flynn. The TV series introduces new characters, all with their own areas of specialty.

I’m glad to see that these movies have now been adapted into a TV series. From the trailer, it looks like the series has a lot of humor and adventure. Noah Wyle, Bob Newhart and Jane Curtin reprise their roles, plus they’ve added some other “name” actors: Rebecca Romijn (X-Men movies), Christian Kane (Leverage) and John Larroquette (Night Court and Richie Rich).

I’m keeping my fingers crossed. TNT’s YouTube trailer is hilarious (watch it to the very end!), and I look forward to seeing the show. (Hmmm….wonder if they need any extras? I volunteer! I volunteer!)

10 Comments

Filed under Writing

10 responses to “The Librarians are coming!

  1. Looks like fun! I’ve never seen this before.

    • Oh, you REALLY need to see the Librarian movies, Kate! They are:

      1) The Librarian: Quest for the Spear (at least see this one to get familiar with the character)
      2) The Librarian: Return to King Solomon’s Mines
      3) The Librarian: Curse of the Judas Chalice

      You’ll probably be able to find them online at places like YouTube or Hulu. Or try Amazon, too.

  2. The Librarian is back?!? As a TV series?!? Wooahhhh👌👍😄

  3. Ohh, I’m so glad to hear about this. Love Noah Wyle, and how can you miss with Bob Newhart and Jane Curtain? I’ll keep an eye out for it. Fun to find your blog. Hello!

  4. Oh wow. I’ve never heard about this before! This looks absolutely amazing. I will definitely be on the lookout for it. I haven’t seen Noah Wyle in action in ages, so this is a double treat!

  5. How have I never heard of this? How has Bob Newhart flown under my radar?

    Thanks. I’m gonna check it out.

SPEAK!!!

