4 useful social media sites to know

Falcon

“Quit squawking over there! I’m Twittering!” Falcon image courtesy of ranbud, Morguefile.

I’ve used Twitter pretty intensely this year, especially for tweetchats. For my readers who are unfamiliar with tweetchats, think of them as a type of global discussion. Everybody gathers together on Twitter at a certain day and time, and the host provides a series of questions about a prearranged topic (in my case, it’s often marketing or books). Participants answer through their tweets or comment on the tweets of others and the entire tweetchat lasts about one hour.

For me, the tweetchats are tremendously educational. In book chats, I get recommendations about books I might normally have missed. For the marketing chats, there are tips and resources from my marketing peers, as well as some hilarity from the other participants. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard at online witticisms.

As a result of all this Twittering, I’ve come across a series of great sites that I wanted to share with everyone. I’ve had some fun with them and I think you may, too, if you want to check them out.

1. Nurph — Nurph is a free website that records tweetchats in real time as they happen. If you’re old enough to remember chat rooms, Nurph is similar to those. You can see people as they enter or leave the chat, see all of the tweets as they happen, and Nurph attaches the tweet’s hashtag to your tweet so you don’t have to keep typing it every time you tweet.

If you miss the tweetchat during its scheduled time, you can go back and read the entire chat if you want. (Yes, contrary to popular beliefs, there IS life outside of social media, people. Remember that as you recover from your turkey comas and the perils of Black Friday and Cyber Monday.)

Nurph is very user-friendly. Even if you are not on Twitter and don’t ever plan to be (gasp!), you can still read the entire tweetchat.

Nurph has some nice people. I sent them a thank-you tweet once and they put me on their blog. Awww…. *warm fuzzies*

2. Movy — With Movy, you can record free video messages to send to someone else. One of my marketing buds has a lot of fun with this, since he likes to lip-sync to music for our entertainment. Two of us challenged him to do Lady Gaga’s “Applause”, and I loved it.

3. Hootsuite — There are various tools for managing what one puts on social media, such as Tweetdeck, Sprout Social, Buffer and Hootsuite, to name a few. Some charge a monthly fee, while others have free versions with simpler features.

I’m currently using the free version of Hootsuite to schedule my tweets to go out at certain times, which saves me from the need to personally log into Twitter to send out a thought or link. That’s so handy. A little mini-app called Hootlet provides me with a convenient way to share articles that I think others will like. All I have to do is make a click or two, and tell Tweetchat the right time and day.

4. Canva — Artists, you’re going to love this one. At Canva, it’s possible to create various images using your own photos or $1 photos supplied through the site. (By comparison, some professional stock art sites charge you $25 to $200 for an image.)

Canva has free images, free backgrounds and text boxes to help you create items for Twitter, Facebook, presentations or other projects. You can just drag and drop, then tweak to your satisfaction.

You sign up for a free account and start creating. I made the image below using Canva:

Francis Bacon quote

To create this file, I uploaded a library picture, set the background and created a text box. What do you think? (Photo of library courtesy of imelenchon, Morguefile.)

 

I hope some of you get busy and check out these great sites. I think you’ll enjoy them. Have fun.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Social Media

4 responses to “4 useful social media sites to know

  1. I know I’m showing my age, but I just can’t wrap my head around this particular form of communications. Maybe it’s because I’m not trying to market anything and don’t need to?

    • Twitter is so much more than just marketing. It can be a way of getting news more quickly (although you have to keep in mind that someone may not be a professional journalist) and it also serves as 24-hour customer service.

      Twitter does seem like the world’s wildest tea party at times, but it’s fun to talk with like-minded people, whether it’s marketing, books, or nostalgia topics.

      I also like being able to tell authors directly how much I enjoyed news articles or books that they wrote. Can’t exactly do that with Jane Austen, Charles Dickens or the Bronte sisters, such a pity.

  2. Sounds like the old conference calls we had at work. I didn’t like them either. Don’t use Twitter, although I got an account.

SPEAK!!!

