Fourth blogoversary: Thankfulness

blogoversary candles

Another blogoversary reached! Image courtesy of supafine, Morguefile.

Yesterday, I celebrated my fourth blogoversary in the blogging world. How time flies!

The third year, I’m told, is a dangerous one for some bloggers. At that point, they decide that it’s too much work to keep up the blog or real life’s activities interfere, causing a shortage of time to blog. I had some of that this year — in addition to losing my best friend last February, there were other funerals to attend this year of people I knew and liked. It got difficult to come up with new topics and fresh viewpoints when I was just not in the mood to write.

But the year wasn’t all bad, either. I visited some new places, acquired some new skills, and achieved a goal that I’d been seeking for a long, long time. (Sorry, that’s as specific as I want to get.) Reaching this goal involved a lot of effort, despair and frustration, but it eventually led to joy and contentment.

During the path to that goal, blogging and chatting with my blog readers proved enormously helpful. Trading viewpoints on the human experience, debating the rights or wrongs of a situation, and enthusing about a story or author we both like helped restore my spirit, maintain the drive I needed and gave me a lot of good giggles on those days when I felt in need of cheering up. Your wit, your wisdom, and your willingness to share bits of your lives and experience is a constant fascination to me, especially since it comes from people all over the U.S. and in other parts of the world.

To my faithful readers and commenters (Marilyn, Diann, Philosopher Mouse, Jools, Jaclyn, Ray, Lorna, Grahammb, Kunstkitchen, Herba, JM McDowell, Liam, Servetus, RAFrenzy, and many others): Thank you for sticking around. This year, I’m working on adding more of my own photography to the blog and I have some great new books I’ve been longing to blog about. There are still some topics that I want to discuss in the blog as well, so stay tuned for an interesting year!

To the followers who joined me this year: Thanks to you too for following me. Yes, I noticed when you started following me and it’s much appreciated.

Happy New Year, everybody! I hope 2016 brings you lots of contentment, fun times and humor.

Let’s party! (Video credit: Kanál uživatele VinnmauS, YouTube.)

32 Comments

Filed under Writing

32 responses to “Fourth blogoversary: Thankfulness

  1. Congratulations! It’s a milestone. I’ve been blogging over 4 years and almost all (except 1) of my original blogger buddies have stopped blogging. There are times when inspiration isn’t there but the blogging community is so much fun and inspiring. Hope you hang around for a while!

    • Planning on it. It’s so sad to see bloggers stop — there were some great blogs I read but now those bloggers aren’t posting any more. At least with the blogging community, it feels like you can come back anytime and soon it’s as if you never left.

      • Yes! One of my favorite bloggers quite posting 1-1/2 years ago when she got a full time job. She recently left the job and she’s posting again. She didn’t miss a beat. I am routine blowing coffee out of my nose. There are some new ones that are great too. Maybe we can call it the “circle of blogging.”

  2. travelrat

    I hadn’t noticed the ‘Three Year Itch’ in blogging, but they say something like it when you quit smoking. You feel your strongest craving after 3 days, 3 months then 3 years. Once you’ve passed the three year mark, you’ve cracked it. Or so they say; worked for me, anyway.

  3. Congratulations! You’re right about that third year. I made it through that, but it was my sixth year that caught up with me!

  4. Happy Blogoversary. Hope 2016 treats you and your blogging great.

  5. I agree with your ideas about the third year being tough. I just relocated to an entirely new part of the country for me, New England. I’ve been here 3 months and don’t yet know my way around or have any friends. That will change with time but in the meantime I’m strapped for a constant supply of photographic material to keep my post fresh and original. Moving can tend to be stressful so just as I’m getting comfortable here come my first New England Winter. How many ways can you photograph snow? LOL

  6. Jaclyn

    Happy blog birthday, friend! I always enjoy your writing and look forward to more this coming year.

  7. A lovely, celebratory post. Congratulations on your fourth blogoversary! I know of what you speak, having struggled with ‘third year slump’ myself. That’s how come I’ve reinvented my blog around my passion of the moment – at least for the next few months, and after that, who knows. We can, after all, do whatever we like with our blogs, and the most powerful thing is when they are a reflection of who we are.

  8. I do believe we started at the same time. Cheers! *bubbly pouring *

  9. Congratulations. My fourth anniversary is next month, so we must have started at the same time, more or less. I’m really enjoying not doing very much right now. I keep threatening to take some time off, but never quite seem to do it. But being away from home helps. I feel totally unmotivated. Congratulations yet again 🙂

  10. Servetus

    Congratulations and here’s to another fantastic year!

  11. Hurrah for you! I had no idea Year 3 was a make or break year. Good thing. I just plowed right through. I think I’m coming up on 5 years…or is it 6. At any rate, I’m a blogging dinosaur!

  12. Congratulations! Keep it up. 🙂

  13. Congratulations on the 4-year mark! I crawled over it last fall, but gosh darn it, I made it. 🙂 Sadly, so many bloggers I enjoyed reading over that period didn’t. But sometimes life takes us on another path.

    I’m certainly looking forward to your next 4 years and beyond. (And thank you for the lovely mention in your post!)

  14. A bit late, but seems like blog parties never end. Congrats and cheers! The blogging community has been the biggest surprises since I started. Such a wide range of things to read and people to meet. Always enjoy stopping at your front porch for a chat ( although life has been interrupting my available time recently) Thanks for all the great reads and looking forward to your photography and more book reviews. (Appreciate being mentioned, too) Now party on – the Conga line is forming!

SPEAK!!!

